BRISBANE WOMEN'S HOCKEY ASSOCIATION INC 16 MELBOURNE STREET, WINDSOR 4030

MINUTES NINETIETH ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING HELD AT THE BWHA CLUBHOUSE TUESDAY 28th NOVEMBER 2023 AT 7.05PM

- **1.0 OPEN & WELCOME:** by the President, Karin Walduck to the 90th BWHA Annual General Meeting. Special welcome to our Life Members in attendance tonight. Welcome also to Holly Williams our new General Manager, if you haven't meet her on arrival tonight, please take the opportunity to meet her after the meeting.
- 2.0 ATTENDANCE: Karin Walduck, Lesley Bennett, Bron Morris, Sue Reid, Kellie Roberts (BoM), Kath Proctor (GM), Holly Williams (GM), Cheryl Kann, Lyn Thomas OAM, Heather Scraggs OAM, Ronda Nix OAM, Caroline Schomberg, Jenny Tidey OAM, (LM), Alyson Aleksic, Margie Brown, Larissa Cunliffe-Jones, Judy Hartnett (Jnr Ctee), John Pembroke, Matt Dunn (AHS), Nicoli Hawgood (Bul), Gail Blackwell (Com), Kym Bell, Jan Galloway (CD), Robyn Anderson (Ests), Tasha Gaddes, Aliesha Cutts (KW), Kate Laherty (Nths), Lee Tran, Petra O'Meara (QUT), Anthony Smith (Red), Tammy Drews, Nancy McKoy (Rlands), Jan Spathonis, Debbie Childs (Sts), Nicole Balchin, Julie Ball (SBE), Maree Whitchurch (SWU), Kim Field (UQ), Sally Harper (Val), Kelli Robinson, Tracey O'Connor, Diana Young, Blanche Ryan, Keith Nix (Guests).

2.1 Apologies for Absence:

Sonya Fisher (LM), Christine Blanchard (LM), Janne Ellis (LM), Jan Hadfield (LM), Marilyn Chatfield (LM), Jenny Heron (LM), Noreen Walton (UQ), Raelene Berndt (Sts), Lisa Donaldson (Jnr CTee), Amy Ryan (BWHA MDM), Kristin Muir (Sts), Angie Lambert (MBC), Carla Shield (PR), Di Brodie (BoM), Lorraine Carroll (Sat Admin).

3.0 CONFIRMATION of MINUTES of BWHA AGM of 22nd NOVEMBER, 2022.

3.1 Copy sent out last December to all clubs and another emailed to clubs with the 2023 AGM agenda.

Minutes accepted by resolution of the Council

4.0 PRESENTATION and ADOPTION of ANNUAL REPORT

- 4.1 Electronic copy is on the Web Page, if you would like a hard copy please advise.
- 4.2 Please advise the office of any errors, omissions or corrections by December 1st 2023.
- 4.3 Thank you to the staff for getting the report together, it is available online https://www.bwha.com.au/history-of-bwha/2023-annual-report/.
- 4.4 This year we have still been recovering from the 2022 Flood and COVID.
- 4.5 Numbers dipped a little.
- 4.6 Thanks to everyone for making it a great year.
- 4.7 Thanks Kath for work required to get us back up and running after the floods.
- 4.8 Following the floods the BWHA records were given to the State Library for safe keeping, they have now been catalogued and placed in the repositories, which are climate controlled and safe from flooding; they will now be available for anyone to access online. Thank you Robyn Hamilton (from the John Oxley Library) as she was instrumental in making this happen.

- 4.9 Brisbane Hockey unfortunately has not been able to progress an Olympic Legacy for hockey, but we will keep trying.
- 4.10 HQ was going to introduce one association per LGA this year, this has now been further discussed, and more information will be provided in the Council Meeting.
- 4.11 We celebrated our 90th this year, by cutting a cake at the U11 Southern Cross, which all people enjoyed.
- 4.12 Kath Proctor leaving BWHA as General Manager.
- 4.13 The 2023 Annual Report was accepted

Moved: K Walduck Seconded: J Hartnett Carried

5.0 PRESENTATION and ADOPTION of the AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENT and the AUDITORS REPORT. Karin Walduck for Sonya Fisher

- 5.1 Electronic copy is on the Web Page as part of the Annual Report.
- 5.2 Copy emailed out to clubs with the AGM Agenda.
- 5.3 Our finances are tracking well, we still have a turf fund and will continue trying to find a location for a turf.
- 5.4 The 2023 Audited Financial Statement and Auditors Report was accepted

Moved: Karin Walduck Seconded: Tracey O' Connor Carried

8.0 PRESENTATION of AWARDS:

8.1 Volunteer of the Year: presented by Karin Walduck and acknowledged by acclamation:

Juniors: Blanche Ryan: U15 Head Manager and Brisbane 4 Team manager in 2023; always willing to assist with representative and development programs.

Seniors: Cheryl Kann: Senior Turf Match Secretary, controlling the player movements across the 7 senior turf divisions and compiling the PL1 statistics. Member of the Umpire & Technical Committee and a volunteer technical officer on Saturday senior turf fixtures.

8.2 Service Awards: presented by Karin Walduck and acknowledged by acclamation **10 Year**

Lorraine Carroll

Junior Committee 2009 – 2012 Junior Match Secretary 2009 – 2012 Manager: U18 Southern Cross 2016

Saturday Administration Officer: 2013 – 2023

10 Year

Kelly Free

U11 Selector 2012

Coach U13 Southern Cross 2014, 2021

Coach U13 State Championships: 2013, 2014, 2015, 2021

Coach: U15 Southern Cross: 2022

Coach: U15 State Championships: 2016, 2018, 2022, 2023

Coach: U18 Southern Cross: 2017

Coach: U18 State Championships: 2017

10 Year

Kristin Muir

Junior Committee: 2012 2013 Selector - U15: 2009 2010 (P) 2014

Selector - U18: 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 (C) 2022 2023 (C)

Selector - Super League/Premier League and Opens: 2012 2013 2014

Coach - Southern Skies: 2006 2008 2009 Coach - U18 Southern Cross: 2008 2011 2012

Coach - U18 State Championships: 2008 2009 2012 2013

Coach - U15 Southern Cross: 2010 2011 2012 Coach - U15 State Championships: 2010 2011 2012

Coach: U13 Southern Cross: 2013 Coach: U13 State Championships: 2013 Asst Coach - Super League: 2013 2014

Asst Coach - QLD U15: 2010

20 Years

Petra Faas O'Meara

Senior Management (Infrastructure Portfolio): 2001 2002

Grounds Committee: 2002 2004 2005

House Committee: 2002 (c) Honorary Secretary: 2003 QWASC Board: 2003 HQ Delegates: 2003

Appeals Committee: 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 (C) 2014 (C)

2016 2017 2021 2023 (C)

Judiciary Committee: 2005 2006 2007 2017 2020 2021

Manager - Opens: 2005

Masters Organising Committee: 2011 2012 2013 2014 Masters Fixtures & Grading Committee: 2013 2014 2017

Masters Fixture Committee: 2016 2017

Umpire – HQ Master's State Championships: 2010 2019 2021 2023

20 Years

Kelli Robinson

Junior Committee: 2010 2011 2012 2013

Selector - U15: 2003 2004 2006 2007 2008 (C) 2009 (C) 2010 (C) 2011 (C) 2012(C) 2013

(C) 2014 (C) 2015 2016 (C) 2017 (C) 2018 (C) 2020 (C) 2021

Selector - U18: 2013 2014 2015 (C) 2016 2017 (C) 2018 2019 2021 2022 (C) 2023

Selector - Masters: 2016 Selector - HQ Champs: 2023

Coach - U18 State Championships: 2010

Manager - U18 State Championships: 2012 2014

Manager - Masters State Championships: 2014 2015 2016 2017

25 Years

Diana Young

Selector – Masters/Veterans: 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 (p) 2012 2012 (C) 2013 (C) 2014 2015 2016 2017 2019 2021 2022 (C) 2023 (C)

(C) 2023 (C)

Coach - Veterans: 1998

Junior Fixture & Grading Committee: 2001 2002 2003 2004 2006 2007 (p)

Junior Fixture Committee Proxy: 2005

Competitions Committee (Turf): 2008 2009

Competitions Committee (Grass): 2008 2009 2013 Grading Committee (Turf): 2008 2010 2011 2013 Grading Committee (Grass): 2008 2009 2010 2011 2013

Masters Organising Committee: 2013 2014 2015

9.0 INSURANCE OF ASSOCIATION

- Sportscover Australia Pty Ltd Public Liability \$20,000,000.00 from 31st December 2022 to 31st December 2023. NB: Hockey Australia renew each year.
- Web Site: www.hockey.honansport.com.au
- Clubs can download their own Certificate of Currency from the above website.

10.0 ELECTION of BOARD of MANAGEMENT

As per nominations received for 2024: endorsed by the Council

10.1 President: Karin Walduck10.2 Vice-President: Christine Blanchard

10.3 Treasurer: Sonya Fisher

10.4 Board Members: Lesley Bennett, Di Brodie; Bron Morris, Toni Ovenell

Sue Reid, Kellie Roberts.

11.0 APPOINTMENTS:

11.1 Auditor: Chequers Financial Services Pty Ltd11.2 Secretary: Holly Williams (General Manager)

12.0 **GENERAL BUSINESS:** Nil

13.0 CLOSE: 7.20pm